Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours

Built in 1771, it stands as a symbol of faith and hope for many of its visitors. Located on the banks of the St Lawrence River, this beautiful chapel offers breathtaking views and a rich history that dates back to 1655 when it was first established as a mission by Marguerite Bourgeoys.

The original structure was destroyed during the British invasion in 1760 but was rebuilt shortly after under the direction of Jean de Lauzon de Charny. The new church featured two towers with spires, one dedicated to Saint Joseph and another to Our Lady of Good Help (Notre Dame de Bon Secours). Inside, visitors will find stunning stained-glass windows depicting scenes from both Old Testament stories and New Testament parables.

In addition to its religious significance, Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours has also been recognized for its architectural beauty throughout history. It has served as an inspiration for other churches around Montreal such as Église du Sacré Coeur de Jésus which was built between 1876 and 1880 using similar designs inspired by Chapelle Notre Dame’s architecture.

Today, Chapelle Notre Dame remains open for all who wish to visit or take part in services held here regularly including mass on Sundays at 10:30am EST followed by vespers at 5pm EST each Saturday evening before Sunday Mass begins again at 11am EST. Visitors can also explore the museum located just outside where they can learn more about this historic site through interactive displays featuring artifacts found within these walls over time such as coins left behind by sailors who prayed there centuries ago or even cannonballs fired off during battles long forgotten yet still remembered today thanks to this incredible building’s timelessness.

Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours ist Teil unserer Sightseeing-Tour!

Entdecken Sie diese und viele weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten bei unserer einzigartigen Mischung aus Stadtführung und Schnitzeljagd.